Enjoy an overnight stay, a wonderful
dinner for two, and a great show at
The Curtis House is proud to share resources with the Mesothelioma Community Resource Network. Family and loved ones of those undergoing cancer treatment or consulting with an area mesothelioma lawyer will find comfort while lodging with us. Learn more about mesothelioma or how to join the network at the Mesothelioma Cancer Alliance.
Located in picturesque Woodbury, Connecticut (CT’s antique capital), in the foothills of Western Connecticut’s beautiful Berkshires, The Curtis House Inn is Connecticut’s oldest inn and an exceptional venue for relaxing, lodging, dining, and/or celebrating those special events. We offer a variety of quaint guest rooms, spacious dining/banquet rooms, a warm and inviting pub and a rich history.
Over the years, The Curtis House Inn has brought comforts to many weary travelers and vacationers alike. From the warm bed stones hanging on the lobby fireplace to today’s wireless internet service, The Curtis House tries to offer visitors “Every Modern Comfort, Every Ancient Charm.” With canopied beds, wide board flooring, cable TV and air-conditioning, we try to join quaint country charm to everyday conveniences.
The Curtis House was built some time before 1736 by the Reverend Anthony Stoddard, and opened as the Orenaug Inn in 1754 by the Reverend’s grandson, Anthony Stoddard. Having been occupied by some 30 different owners since, it has remained, throughout, a Publick House.
The Curtis House has seen many changes throughout the years. The
alterations have coincided with the times. Originally the entire
second floor was a ballroom which later gave way to additional guest
rooms. The biggest renovation was “the raising of the roof” in
1900. Then owner, Levi Curtis, added the 3rd floor where 8 rooms
were added in anticipation of a boom from the scheduled trolley
services. Total cost of the renovation, according to work records,
During the late 1940’s and early 50’s, Estella Hardisty was a waitress for Sterling Dunn (Inn owner from 1945-1954). When Mr. Dunn decided he was ready to retire, he offered to sell the Inn to Mrs. Hardisty and her son Chester. They agreed and bought the Inn in 1954. It has been in the Hardisty family since that time, lovingly cared for by four generations thus far.
Today, the main house offers 14 quaint guest rooms (8 rooms with private baths and 6 with shared baths), two large dining rooms and a cozy lower level pub. The former carriage house which is connected to the main house by a picturesque footbridge, has also been transformed into four comfortable guest rooms with private baths that are handicapped accessible.
The Free Masons
Murder and Mayhem?
Hungry for more Inn legend and history?
This website was created by
Out-Source Communications. Now maintained by